Dead Girl Walking

Dead Girl Walking by Ruth SilverDead Girl Walking

Publisher: Patchwork Press

Published: April 25, 2014

Forget everything you know about grim reapers.

Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of the castle to visit her boyfriend in secret. A perfect night cut short when she’s brutally murdered.
Ophelia is given the rare chance to become a grim reaper. She must become Leila Bele, cut ties with her old life, and follow the rules of the reapers. Her greatest adventure begins with death.



“Listen, kid, I don’t care what you believe in. It’s not for me to say what’s true and untrue, real or unreal. My assignment was you. You get to be one of us, if you want it. Otherwise, you move on, life is over, kaput.”

Ophelia backed away from the stranger. For the first time, she realized she didn’t feel cold and wasn’t shivering. Is this what being dead was like? “One of you?”

“A grim reaper.” He held out his hand to properly introduce himself. “Edon Montgomery, head reaper and old soul.”

Young goth woman

What Book Bloggers are saying about Dead Girl Walking

DEAD GIRL WALKING is just that great “Pick me up book” that I needed in my reading slump! It was fantastic, and I need the next book, NOW!!” – Alicia, Addicted Readers

“I had fun exploring their lives as much as the adventure Leila was forced to go through. with the cliffhanger that i was left with by the end of the book, i can’t wait to lay my hands on the coming installment.”  – Levian

Never go to the outhouse alone!!” – Barbara, Goodreads Reviewer

“I also enjoyed how the story is not just from Leila point of view but from others as well…All in all I gave Dead Girl Walking a 5 out of 5 because it was nothing short than awesome.” – Michelle, Book Talk

“Silver’s storyline, plot and characters are all very unique and I commend her on creating such a complex and intriguing new world for readers like myself to leap right in and enjoy.” – Lana, Girls Heart Books

“She comes back from the dead as Leila the Grim Reaper, this in itself is a fantastic idea as I have never read of a female Grim Reaper…” – Stressed Rach

“Grim Reapers, ghosts, and angels of death along with royal princesses, Dead Girl Walking has it all.” – Bottles & Books

“The reapers in Dead Girl Walking are sassy, trouble seeking teenagers that are set on bending the rules. Who would have thought dying would provide so much entertainment?” – Accepted Wisdom

“Ruth Silver has earned herself a place on my bookshelf with Dead Girl Walking and I am thrilled to be reading another of her works very soon.” – Emilie’s Reviews

“This was a wonderful and exciting paranormal read, with a hint of romance and great adventure.” – Roxanne Kade

“I think fans of Dead Like Me would really enjoy it, as well as fans of YA Paranormal reads.” – The AP Book Club

“This story was interesting, pulled at me and I followed. A new take on reapers, like no other story I have read.” – KJ Reads a Lot

“Dead Girl Walking is a great book for people who like mystery, fantasy and the afterlife.”- Lexi, Girls Heart Books

“I couldn’t help but adore this story – I love reading about grim reapers, and Silver’s concept was fresh and original.” – Jennifer, Donnie Darko Reviews

“I enjoyed how Ruth’s writing seems to flow effortlessly from scene to scene. ” Louise, Relaxed Reads




Meet the Characters

View a map of the land

Character Art

Booktrack (Soundtracks for Books – Read a preview with music)

Guest Post – Casmerelda, The Black Plague, and How a World was Born

Guest Post – Secrets

Author Interview over at The Book Bratz

Dead Girl Walking